Kobe Bryant price, explained: Why the NBA All-Star MVP is named after the Lakers legend

Kobe Bryant’s legacy will live forever. As part of that legacy, the NBA All-Star Game MVP award is now named in honor of Bryant.

After Bryant’s tragic death in 2020, the award was renamed NBA All-Star Game Kobe Bryant Most Valuable Player Award. In 2022, the award was redesigned to honor Bryant’s many accomplishments during his 20-year NBA career, many of which occurred on the NBA All-Star stage.

MORE: NBA unveils All-Star Game MVP Kobe Bryant Trophy

It turns out that the All-Star Game MVP is the perfect award to be named in Bryant’s honor and the redesigned trophy reflects that.

Here’s why.

CONTINUED: Watch the NBA All-Star Game live with Sling TV (3-day free trial; US only)

Kobe Bryant price, explained: Why the NBA All-Star MVP is named after the Lakers legend

On February 15, 2020, NBA Commissioner Adam Silver announced that the NBA All-Star Game MVP award would be permanently named in honor of Bryant, beginning with the 2020 NBA All-Star Game, which took place on February 16, 2020, three weeks from the date of Bryant’s death.

“Kobe Bryant is synonymous with NBA All-Star and embodies the spirit of this global celebration of our game,” Silver said in an official statement. “He always relished the opportunity to compete with the best of the best and perform at the highest level for millions of fans around the world.”

Fittingly, Bryant’s name is etched in the NBA All-Star record books.

MORE: Rosters for the 2022 NBA All-Star Game

During his 20-year NBA career, Bryant was named to 18 All-Star Games, with his first selection coming in 1998, his second NBA season.

At 19, Bryant became the youngest player to appear in an NBA All-Star Game, a record that stands to this day.

MORE: LaMelo Ball joins elite business as one of five youngest All-Stars ever

Bryant was named NBA All-Star Game MVP in 2002, 2007, 2009 and 2011, tying him with Bob Pettit for most NBA All-Star Game MVP Awards with four.

With records as the youngest All-Star and most decorated All-Star, Bryant’s name is synonymous with excellence in the All-Star Game.

Redesign of the Kobe Bryant award

The 2022 NBA All-Star Game marks the first year in which “The Kobe Bryant Trophy” will be awarded to the All-Star Game MVP.

A revamp of the award from years past, the trophy has “intricate details with dual significance, both to NBA All-Star and Bryant’s storied career.”

Some of those details include: an eight-sided base that represents All-Star Games’ eight decades and Bryant’s No. 8 jersey, 24 first-tier stars that represent every All-Star in the game, and Bryant’s No. 24 jersey. Bryant, and 10 stars at the second tier to represent Bryant’s 10 All-Star starters and USA Basketball No. 10 jersey.

Learn more about the Kobe Bryant trophy here.

Comments are closed.