Section Assignments Determined for 2022 Intercollegiate Team Championships

ARLINGTON, TX – The transition to playoff play and the early stages of the race for the coveted Helmer Cup are in sight for collegiate bowling programs with the announcement of section assignments for 2022 Intercollegiate Team Championships.

The four section qualifiers will take place March 12-13 at the Stardust Bowl in Addison, Illinois; USA Bowl in Dallas; Poelking Lanes South in Dayton, Ohio; and the Smyrna Bowling Center in Smyrna, Tennessee.

The top four men’s teams and top four women’s teams from each section will qualify for the ITC, which will be held at the Stardust Bowl in Addison from April 20-23.

The Wichita State men’s and women’s won the ITC titles in 2021, and the Shockers finished the 2021–22 United States Bowling Congress Collegiate regular season as the highest-ranked team in each division. Both teams will travel to the USA Bowl for the section in Dallas.

ITC’s wins in 2021 marked the 12th and 10th national titles for the men’s and women’s programs, respectively.

The full field of Section Qualifiers for the Men’s and Women’s Varsity Team Championships (teams listed alphabetically):

Addison sectional

Adrian, Bowling Green State, Calumet, Huntington, Judson, Lawrence Tech, Lourdes, Marian-Wisconsin, Mount Mercy, Northwestern Ohio, Purdue, Rochester, Rock Valley, St. Ambrose, Thomas More, Viterbo, Waldorf, William Penn, Wisconsin- La Crosse, Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Wisconsin-Oshkosh, Wisconsin-Whitewater

Dallas Sectional
Arizona State, California State-Fresno, California-Davis, Drury, Grand Canyon, Grand View, Iowa Central CC, Iowa Western CC, Kansas Wesleyan, Midland, Nevada-Las Vegas, Newman, Oklahoma Christian, Ottawa-Kansas, Peru State , San Jose State, Spring Hill, Webber International, Wichita State

Dayton sectional
Davenport, Madonna, Marian-Indiana, McKendree, Muskingum, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Notre Dame-Ohio, Robert Morris-Pennsylvania, Saint Vincent, Saint Xavier, Siena Heights, Spring Arbor, St. Francis-Illinois, SUNY-Stony Brook , South Tennessee, Trine, Walsh, William Paterson

Smyrna sectional
Aquinas, Baker, Belmont Abbey, Campbellsville, Concordia, Culver-Stockton, Emmanuel, Florida State, Indiana Tech, Life, Lincoln Memorial, Lindenwood, Midway, Pikeville, Savannah College of Art and Design-Atlanta, Savannah College of Art and Design- Savannah, Southeast Illinois, Tennessee Wesleyan, Tusculum, University of the Cumberlands, Wright State

Addison sectional

Adrian, Alma, Calumet, Clarke, Duquesne, Huntington, Judson, Lawrence Tech, Lewis, Louisiana Tech, Lourdes, Marian-Wisconsin, Mount Mercy, Rock Valley, St. Ambrose, Viterbo, William Penn, Wisconsin-Whitewater

Dallas Sectional
College of Saint Mary, Grand View, Iowa Central CC, Kansas Wesleyan, Midland, Morningside, Newman, Oklahoma Christian, Ottawa-Kansas, Sam Houston State, Stephen F. Austin, Tulane, Webber International, Wichita State

Dayton sectional
Davenport, Delaware State, Madonna, Marian-Indiana, McKendree, Muskingum, Notre Dame-Ohio, Ohio State, Rio Grande, Sacred Heart, Saint Xavier, Spring Arbor, St. Francis-Illinois, Tennessee Southern, Trine, Walsh

Smyrna sectional
Baker, Campbellsville, Concordia, Culver-Stockton, Emmanuel, Indiana Tech, Lindenwood, Maryville, Mount St. Mary’s, North Carolina A&T, Pikeville, Savannah College of Art and Design-Atlanta, Savannah College of Art and Design-Savannah, Union, University of the Cumberlands, Wright State

Section assignments are based on Team Ranking System (TRS) points earned during the season. USBC Collegiate attempts to place no more than two of the top eight schools, and no more than four of the top 16 schools, in a section, based on final TRS totals.

The sectional format reverts to 64 Baker games in 2022, with 32 games taking place each day. Total pinfall will determine which teams advance to ITC.

The four host centers will also hold qualifiers for the varsity singles championships on March 11. Competitors in each section will play six matches, with 24 men and 24 women – the top four men and top four women from each section, plus an additional eight. depending on the size of the field – move to the national singles event.

The ISC will also be held at the Stardust Bowl, with competition beginning on April 18.

Registration for the Singles Section Qualifiers will begin February 25 at 11 a.m. EST and close March 4 at 6 p.m. EST. Student-athletes can register at

Pairs selected from each Section Qualifier will be streamed live on BowlTV will also cover all qualifying rounds and match play at ITC and ISC.

The ITC and ISC finals will be taped for broadcast on CBS Sports Network.

Comments are closed.